Where is the Excitement?

There is no doubt in my mind that Cleveland sports fans are the greatest fans in the world.  With that said, I noticed there has been some sort of lull in the excitement before, during and after games.  That is no surprise when it comes to the Cavs this season but I haven’t heard that much from the Indians.  Spring training is underway and the only thing I have heard regarding the Indians is that Fausto Carmona will be the opening day starter…thats it!

I’m not going to lie this time of year in the sports world is quite boring.  The NBA is still mid-season, baseball is in spring training and football just ended.  The only thing Cleveland has to look forward to in the next few weeks is the NCAA men’s basketball tournament (Quicken Loans Arena plays host to games in the 1st and 2nd rounds of the tournament).  Call me crazy, but I still have the same amount of excitement this year as I did last year.   

Last Friday I watched the Cavs play the New York Knicks, in Madison Square Garden, and it was the debut of Baron Davis.  I was excited just to see him play but add the newly formed Knicks with Carmelo Anthony and you had one exciting game.  This was the 2nd time in a week that these teams played each other.  The Cavs had stunned the Knicks earlier in the year before the addition of Carmelo and they did it again after the addition of

The Cavaliers version of ochocinco Baron Davis

Carmelo.  This was the first game in New York and Carmelo marked it as a “revenge game” against the worst team in the NBA.  Seemed like the cards were stacked against the Cavaliers but Baron Davis had other plans.  The Cavs were down ten with about half of the fourth quarter left to play but then Davis and the rest of the Cavaliers came back to upset the Knicks…again. 

The game was sealed by Davis who hit a deep three in the final 30 seconds to push the lead from a one possession game to a two possession game.  I was at my friend’s house watching the game and the excitement we had when he hit that shot was amazing.  I jumped out of my chair and screamed like a school girl.  I didn’t care that this win was only the 12th out of 61, it was special and meant a lot to me as a Cleveland fan.    

For me, the excitement is still there even during this lack-lustered time for Cleveland sports.  I don’t care that the Cavs are terrible and that the Indians are projected to finish last in the Central Division.  As long as there is a game or two that gets me out of my chair screaming at the top of my lungs I’ll be alright. Don’t get me wrong, a nice long playoff run by any Cleveland team is awesome but that’s bonus for me.  If the playoffs are out of the question then an exciting game or two is all I am asking for.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where is the Excitement?

  1. Caralynn Arena says:

    I totally agree with this article. I may be a little biased being that I am a from Pittsburgh and born and raised a Pittsburgh sports fan. But the concept they are conveying through this article really speaks to me. Being a dedicated sports fan is like being part of a family. No matter the circumstances you are always supposed to support and encourage. Win or Lose. Cleveland but not only Cleveland needs to keep the faith with their city and the sports teams within that city. No matter if they win or lose, A key player leaves or not, They mess up or not, a fan should always be a fan. Nothing is worse than a following the winning teams and riding The Bandwagon!

  2. Ericka Amy says:

    I definitely agree. As Cleveland fans, we’re used to the discouraging seasons and let downs each team is almost guaranteed to give us. However, when we get a couple get-out-of-your-seat plays or even full games, it helps us get through the losing streaks. Keeps us saying “There’s hope for next year!”

Leave a Reply

